Burma or Myanmar is a Southeast Asian country of 52 million inhabitants, located in the Indochinese peninsula. This country, with an area of 678 ​​500 km² is limited at the north by the Autonomous Region of Tibet, at the East by China, Laos and Thailand, at the South by the Andaman Sea and the Gulf of Siam, and at the West by the Indian Ocean, the Bay of Bengal, Bangladesh and India. Its current capital is Naypyidaw, located in the central region.

The country has over a hundred ethnic groups, the most important are the Burmese (75%), the Shan (11%), the Arakanese or Arakanese (6%), the Karènes (5%), the Mon (3 %), Kachin (2.5%). The country also has 150,000 Chinese and 800,000 Indians. The Karènes, Kachin and the Shan are often talk about them as they revolt against Burma's ethnic majority. The main language is Burmese and nearly 90% of the population is Buddhist.

Burma was a former British colony for much of the 19th century until its independence at the end of the 2nd World War. The country is a parliamentary democracy and until a military coup in 1962. Between 1962 and 1988, the country was ruled by military dictatorships and then make way for the military junta until 2011. Since 2011, the country tends to liberalize slowly, thanks to the transition to civilian rule, but this is still held by a former member of the junta. This still resulted in the lifting of the embargo put in place by the European Union and the United States and the increasing development of tourism.